Stop being indecisive dammit!

I have discovered that indecisiveness is the biggest killer of accomplishment…

I know that I have always been indecisive, but while creating this blog I discovered that it has hindered my life in many ways and will continue to do so unless I make some serious changes.

Indecisiveness has negatively impacted my life in three major ways:

1. Procrastination: This seems to be an obvious outcome of indecisiveness, although I am just realizing this. I procrastinate EVERYTHING! And it is not because I am lazy, or unmotivated, but rather that I can never make a decision on what to do first, what direction I want to take, what I outcome I want, or what strategy I want to use to get things done. Procrastination hinders accomplishment because it is hard to accomplish everything you want to do, especially in the best way you can, if you constantly put everything off simply because you cannot make a decision about anything. Sometimes it is not even that I necessarily put off a task entirely, but instead end up procrastinating because it takes me forever to make a decision about each minute part of the task, which leads to the task taking much more time to complete then it should. Take for example this blog, I have wanted to create a blog for about a month or two now but am just doing so because of procrastination – I could not decide what I wanted my “theme” to be, or what I thought the driving purpose behind my blog should be, etc.

2. Trouble Creating and Achieving Goals: This is an essential part of accomplishing what you want to do in your life, but for me this is a nearly impossible task! It stems from indecisiveness about what I want to do with my life or what I want out of life. Therefore, I end up feeling like I constantly never accomplish everything I intend to and/or want to. This then furthers my confusion and lack of confidence about what I want to do with my life or what I should be doing with my life.

3. Missing Important Opportunities: Being indecisive has led to me missing out on many opportunities in life…I end up putting off making a decision about whether or not to do something, and up missing out entirely by either forgetting about it or waiting too long to make a decision about whether to do it or not.

Overall, however, being indecisive has negatively impacted my ENTIRE life! Indecisiveness is like a domino effect, it subsequently affects everything having to do with an initial decision. Even a simple decision such as deciding what to wear in the morning can take me forever, which then leads to possibly being late for class or having less time for a more important activity, etc.

My biggest discovery about my indecisiveness has been what I think facilitates it…my desire for perfection and my fear that I will not get the outcome I expect and/or want. I have realized that I need to fix this ASAP! How can I go through life not making decisions simply because I am scared that things will not go the way I planned? I CAN’T! I need to go with my gut more. I need to take more chances. I need to let go of my fears and start actually doing things and being confident in what I want/feel in order to lead a more fulfilling life!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

One thought on “Stop being indecisive dammit!

  1. You are a genius. Amazing! You are brilliant! You are particularly gifted expressing yourself in writing.

    Have you been tested by a medical doctor specializing in A.D.H.D.? Edward N Hallowell M.D., author of Driven To Distraction, a Harvard educated psychiatrist, who has the disorder, describes the adult symptoms which include:

    •A sense of underachievement, of not meeting one’s goals (regardless of how much one has actually accomplished).
    •Difficulty getting organized.
    •Chronic procrastination or trouble getting started.
    •Many projects going simultaneously; trouble with follow through.
    •A tendency to say what comes to mind without necessarily considering the timing or appropriateness of the remark.
    •A frequent search for high stimulation.
    •An intolerance of boredom.
    •Easy distractibility; trouble focusing attention, tendency to tune out or drift away in the middle of a page or conversation, often coupled with an inability to focus at times.
    •Often creative, intuitive, highly intelligent

    Just wondering. I was diagnosed at 40. Changed my life. Dad, a Harvard man, and a publisher of a national magazine, easily identified with many of the characteristics.

Leave a comment